Olmsted Scholar Program 2010

Named for Frederick Law Olmsted, the father of American landscape architecture, the purpose of the Landscape Architecture Foundation Olmsted Scholars Program is to identify, recognize and support students with exceptional leadership potential who are willing to engage current and critical issues through the use of ideas, influence, communication, service, and leadership, thus advancing sustainable planning and design and fostering human and societal benefits. Over time, the prestige and publicity associated with the award will also serve to publicize the profession, its significance and opportunities, and help attract inspired and motivated leaders. Given for leadership and vision, the $25,000 Olmsted Scholars Award is intended to be the premier award program for landscape architecture students.

Benefits for National Olmsted Scholar

  • Award: One $25,000 scholarship
  • Ongoing recognition through use of title, “2010 Olmsted Scholar”
  • All benefits listed below

Benefits for University Olmsted Scholars and Finalists

  • Publicity and recognition for all nominees
  • Photo and brief description of each nominee on LAF website in perpetuity, with opportunities to update information
  • Ongoing recognition through use of honorifics, as follows:
    • Finalists may use the title, “2010 Olmsted Scholar Finalist”
    • All nominees may use the title 2010 [University] Olmsted Scholar; for example, “2010 Clemson University Olmsted Scholar”
  • Invitation and complimentary tickets to the LAF Benefit, to be held in Washington DC on September 10, 2010

Click here for more detail www.lafoundation.org